About FSM


Youth literacy (2010)


of the total population is unemployed (2010)


Youth unemployment (2010)


years is the life expectancy (2010)


Infant mortality per 1,000 live births (2010)


Population growth rate

About the Federated States of Micronesia


 One of the islands in the Federated States of Micronesia. Photo: UNDP

FSM has four levels of governance – national, state, municipal, and traditional. The national government, headquartered at Palikir on Pohnpei Island has three branches. The legislative power of the national government is vested in the Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia. The Congress is comprised of four members (one from each state) elected for four-year terms and 10 members (allocated to the states based on population) elected for two-year terms. The Executive power is vested in the President and Vice-President elected by the Congress from amongst members serving four-year terms. Judicial power is vested in the FSM Supreme Court headed by a Chief Justice assisted by up to five Associates Justices.

Within the Federation, states retain considerable authority. The FSM Constitution specifies the powers of the FSM National Congress and expressly delegates all powers not designated to Congress to the states. Many government services and functions most closely associated with the MDGs (e.g. health, education, environmental protection, water and sanitation) are either concurrent national-state functions or primarily state functions. All of the state governments have three branches except for Yap which has four branches (inclusive of traditional government). Beneath the state governments comes another layer of municipal governments. Concurrent with the “western” system of governance, each state also retains and recognizes the power and authority of traditional government according to the custom and tradition of the state. In general traditional governance extends only to matters of custom and tradition but this is broadly defined to include land rights (and marine rights where lagoons are privately owned) and management of natural resources.

National Sustainable Development

In 2003, FSM completed a 20-year strategic development plan, an output of the 3rd FSM Economic Summit that reflected the inputs of over 400 participants representing a broad range of perspectives including government, traditional leaders, industry and civil society. The sustained growth strategy encapsulated in the plan focuses on macro-economic stability; good governance; outward-oriented, private sector-led economy; human resource developed (improved health and education services); investment in infrastructure; and long-term environmental sustainability.

Source: FSM Millennium Development Goals and Status Report, 2010.

UNDP Around the world

You are at UNDP Pacific Office 
Go to UNDP Global