About Vanuatu


Youth literacy (2009)


of the total population is unemployed (2009)


Youth unemployment (2009)


years is the life expectancy (2009)


infant mortality per 1,000 live births (2009)


is the population growth rate

About Vanuatu

Political and Administrative Setup

The Republic of Vanuatu is an independent parliamentary democracy, with 52 members of Parliament, for which general elections are held every four years. The most recent national election was held in July 2004 where the Union of Moderate Parties (UMP), the National United Party (NUP) and the Green Confederation Party (GCP) coalition was elected.

The head of state is the President of the Republic, who is elected for a period of five years by an electoral college consisting of Members of Parliament and the Presidents of the Provincial Councils. The new President of the Republic of Vanuatu was elected in August 2004.

The Prime Minister and the 12 co-members of the council of ministers oversee the administration of Vanuatu's 13 government ministries.

The Constitution provides for executive and legislative arms of government, and the judiciary. The President is Vanuatu's Head of State. The judiciary consists of the Supreme Court with a Chief Justice and a Magistrates Court.

Vanuatu is a full member of the British Commonwealth, the French League of Nations, the United Nations, Agence de Co-operation Culturelle et Technique, the South Pacific Bureau for Economic Co-operation (SPEC), the Secretariat of the Pacific Community, the World Bank and the Asian Development Bank (which has its regional headquarters in Port Vila).

Vanuatu Government website (http://www.governmentofvanuatu.gov.vu/).

UNDP Around the world

You are at UNDP Pacific Office 
Go to UNDP Global